8 Comments

I really love the pun, and have shared it with a few of my friends and got a laugh, but it is certainly obscure. I only speak about it to very particular friends.

The Lamb and Dragon is a cool idea; it widens the horizons.

I'm also happy if things stay the same. Change and decay, as they say.

I wonder if there is a way to change, while preserving the delightful pun somewhere or other.

Expand full comment

In my mind, I always read it as, "Mystabiology." Which is still pretty good. But Lamb and Dragon is my favorite. Godspeed.

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2023Liked by Fr Thomas Plant

Dear Mr. Plant

I am rather new here, but why not "mystical theoblogy"? You then still have the pun and a reference to the Areopagite (and thus also a link with neo-platonism) and it is probably broad enough to encompass west-east dialogue?

Much inspiration!

Best wishes

David Roef Nieuwejaers

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2023Liked by Fr Thomas Plant

The Lamb & Dragon is a great name, and I don’t think it needs the “theology in the pub” explainer. I can’t remember whose advice this was, but it rang true: Let your readers join the dots - they’ll love you for it.

Expand full comment
author

Sorry it has been a while! I hope you enjoy what I've just posted, which has been brewing for some time.

Thank you for all your feedback. I'm going to think seriously about the Lamb and Flag option. Time is short at the moment, as we are about to start a new academic year here in Japan, so it is now the season for graduations, matriculations, farewells and orientation sessions, in which we chaplains play a large part.

I have scheduled a repost of an older article published elsewhere for the Annunciation on Saturday: a little gift for any Tolkien fans reading!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for the informative feedback! I am glad you like the pun, but wonder whether it may wear thin after a while. I'll think on ways of preserving it, if we go down the Lamb and Dragon route. Hmm.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you all so far. The Lamb and Dragon idea seems to have captured a few imaginations, but almost as many are happy to keep things as they are. Any more opinions? There are still a few days left to click on the poll if you'd like to.

Expand full comment